PDA

View Full Version : [BUG] Traveling through Housing Areas causes a severe drop in framerate [UPDATED 12/15]



Celestrata Bloodsong
11-03-2015, 03:35 PM
Description: For some users, the moment they begin to travel through a Housing Area, they experience a severe drop in framerate and their movement begins to stutter. This has become especially pronounced after Update 2.0, and is unassociated with network performance.

Workaround: (Updated 12/10) For those who haven't seen this workaround yet, deleting unnecessary quests out of your quest log seems to improve performance in housing areas. Thank you to fanatic667 for finding this correlation!

This information has been passed along to our QA team.

http://forums.archeagegame.com/showthread.php?252851

Status: (Updated 12/15) -- XL has issued a fix to this problem as of our most recent hotfix. Please let us know if you continue to experience issues with lag in housing zones.

Members of the Trion staff have been able to also reproduce these issues on multiple machines, and we have recorded the findings for XL to further investigate. We have sent all of our information to XL to further troubleshoot.

10xray1
11-03-2015, 05:04 PM
I think the worst spot I've found so far is on a boat heading to solis docks from the west.. driving past the bungalows (near the AH guy) drops frames down to 3 fps while loading them, normally over 100 on the ocean.

Isteria
11-04-2015, 01:46 AM
The worst I have seen so far is Windscour housing area (1-3 fps). I was passing with a pack on a donkey and I could only see pictures. Falcorth and Solis are pretty bad too but Windscour was "what the hell" area. My normal frame rate is over 60.

GrowlingMoose
11-04-2015, 04:15 AM
For some reason my fps isn't dropping that much, but the lag is still there. I encountered the worst lag ever inside the north housing area in Windscour. My fps is usually around 80-120, it was just a little bit under 80 when I went through the housing area. Once I moved closer to the lake (outside the housing area, still facing to the houses) the lag was gone. When entering back to the housing area, the lag came back. I haven't noticed this happening anywhere else but WS.

Dragonslight
11-06-2015, 08:32 AM
I noticed this on merge, in places such as two crowns. It seemed it's just the massive amount of buildings and entities, but this lag and fps drop stops after the area loads.

FarmerPotato
11-07-2015, 07:31 AM
I don't have serious framerate problems with my high-end pc, but I'm having severe lag and stutter problems in housing zones.
If I need to give an example, Two Crowns "Moonswept Homes" housing zone is very laggy and stuttery for me.
Before 2.0, it was fine and transitions were smooth.

Jahmic
11-07-2015, 08:08 AM
Thank you for the official response and looking into this. I have a nice amount of land on the cliff near Lacton...after 2.0, I have to port to my house or run around the outskirts of the housing area to avoid the slideshow. In fact, it's so bad that the price of land has actually dropped significantly.

I have no intentions of selling property, and have expanded my claim due to low prices...but the pain of running to the vendors to buy seeds and saplings makes me cringe daily.

smitty19903
11-07-2015, 11:11 AM
Is it possible that part of the issue would be the fully textured water that is under the entire map that the game needs to load for nobody to see?

http://imgur.com/a/koE33

Careby
11-07-2015, 11:17 AM
Also there is a spelling error: the town of Lagton is erroneously shown as Lacton.

I blame the water wheels on upgraded farmhouses for the stuttering, whether or not they are the cause.


...near Lacton...after 2.0, I have to port to my house or run around the outskirts of the housing area to avoid the slideshow... ...but the pain of running to the vendors to buy seeds and saplings makes me cringe daily.

I now completely avoid the vendors in Lacton. It's quicker to take a Hero Mobilization to Marianople, then the worldgate to the Diamond Shores housing area vendors, then a memory ember to return home.

Entitled
11-18-2015, 10:11 AM
Use potato settings on housing areas...

Could it be related to the animations on the new houses?

Deviants
11-18-2015, 03:48 PM
I have my graphics on the "Normal" setting and I still have pretty bad fps drops any time I get near a housing area.

AMD FX-6300 OCed @ 4.3GHz
AMD R9 280X OCed @ 1.05GHz
AMD R9 Gamer Series 8GB RAM
1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD
512GB Crucial MX100 SSD

I'll edit this post later with my normal fps and when I enter a housing area.

kakaroto
11-19-2015, 01:16 PM
sucks when you have a gtx 980 ti/i7 5930k ddr4 corsair @ 3000* & still lagging

forista8
11-19-2015, 02:45 PM
i think trees are the problem, specially trees with lots of leafs, like a bush :S

Tooey
11-19-2015, 07:32 PM
2.0 indroduced all the new upgraded houses, which have animations to them.. Perhaps the lag increase is related to the larger amount of animated objects in housing areas... Could you all try testing with the animations disabled, and if it helps then add an option to disable housing animations?

tuhroy
11-21-2015, 02:05 AM
This problem exists for me but ONLY on my main character, none of my alts are affected. This isn't just happening to certain players, it's happening to certain CHARACTERS.

HoratiusMarcellus
11-23-2015, 03:47 AM
Any update from XL regarding these lagging issues. It has gotten really bad since the 2.0 update and the lag makes the game virtually unplayable when in or near housing areas.

I know it's nothing my end (believe me I've tested for everything) - I use GTX 980 / i7 5930k and this is the only game I have any issues with. Perhaps XL may also need to consider upgrading Archeage to a 64-bit client so that it better utilises the resources of modern systems.

Any news would be appreciated.

Galadriane
11-23-2015, 08:31 PM
I experience significant lag in all housing areas (fps drops from 70 down to 3 in some cases), more so in areas with large concentration of upgraded houses with moving parts and whether riding a horse, hauler, car etc. Auroria housing areas don't seem to be an issue even in DS where there are a few upgraded houses, but in lesser concentration.

Henzzie
11-24-2015, 11:07 AM
Now imagine this. Im running the game with an overclocked pentium dual core 3.77 ghz. Have 4 gigs of ram and a nvidia gt 630 video card. It aint pleasant but then again im getting a new sarvivor rig. Right now the fps is really bad at the housing areas.

Siddalee
11-24-2015, 02:15 PM
If it helps, I do not believe this issue is due to the new housing models. We noticed an immediate impact post 2.0 in Windscour, even before people had had a chance to upgrade their houses. It is definitely a significant increase over pre 2.0, even when Windscour was full.

Atwood
11-26-2015, 06:12 AM
Any news? when this will be finally fixed? This is really annoying and sometimes AA is unplayable for a lot of people!! This problem should have very high priority!!

Polrena
12-01-2015, 03:20 PM
On sirothe, Solis' halo hollow is particularly bad. Started right after the merge and only got worse. Eventually I packed up and moved out of the zone. After getting stuck inside rendering trees and cow pens, it was just unplayable for me.

ncbwilson
12-08-2015, 09:04 AM
Any update as to whether this has even been reproduced by XL or they acknowledged the problem?

Isteria
12-09-2015, 07:59 AM
Any update as to whether this has even been reproduced by XL or they acknowledged the problem?

have you tried the "fix" with the quest log? Less quests you have in progress less lag you have. It also helps removing the arrows which direct you to the quest.

There is a theory that when u enter a zone the game scans the objects to verify if they match any of the quest requirements but when u enter a housing zone the game has 238420948290482 objects to scan which causes lag.

ncbwilson
12-09-2015, 11:04 AM
have you tried the "fix" with the quest log? Less quests you have in progress less lag you have. It also helps removing the arrows which direct you to the quest.

There is a theory that when u enter a zone the game scans the objects to verify if they match any of the quest requirements but when u enter a housing zone the game has 238420948290482 objects to scan which causes lag.

No I haven't because the issue is not present in the rest of the zone only when entering the housing area where a bunch of different brushes have to render to the client.

Sakeru
12-09-2015, 11:35 AM
The worst I have seen so far is Windscour housing area (1-3 fps). I was passing with a pack on a donkey and I could only see pictures. Falcorth and Solis are pretty bad too but Windscour was "what the hell" area. My normal frame rate is over 60.

Windscour is the worst housing area. I sometimes have 0-1 fps there!!! Avarage is 2-3fps there. Other housing areas are also terrible. Before the merge/Update 2.0 I had never problems at Villanelle, but now I lag like hell there (about 3-5 fps).

Solzreed is also terrible. Is the introduction of the upgrade-able-houses the cause?

Yesterday I even lagged and the game didnt load properly at not-housing-areas and dungeons. I couldnt finish GHA, because the water before the last boss didn't load (so no swimming up), yet again my character drowned..... relogging (even reboot of pc) didn't help.

Btw. for a few days a few guildies and me experiance that we sometimes can't use some skills.

Celestrata Bloodsong
12-10-2015, 11:41 AM
For those who haven't seen this workaround yet, deleting unnecessary quests out of your quest log seems to improve performance in housing areas. Thank you to fanatic667 for finding this correlation!

This information has been passed along to our QA team.

http://forums.archeagegame.com/showthread.php?252851

ncbwilson
12-10-2015, 04:07 PM
For those who haven't seen this workaround yet, deleting unnecessary quests out of your quest log seems to improve performance in housing areas. Thank you to fanatic667 for finding this correlation!

This information has been passed along to our QA team.

http://forums.archeagegame.com/showthread.php?252851

That is not a fix, that is a workaround. One I really don't want to have to do.

Siobhan
12-10-2015, 04:32 PM
I can honestly say that I haven't had a whole lot of problems in housing areas.... until the patch yesterday. Nothing renders, and my costumes are black. While it is funny to see shadows of jumping yatas where my livestock should be, it takes a full minute or so to render fully. This never happened to me personally until yesterday's patch.

Jerky
12-10-2015, 05:17 PM
....wrong forum

Glove
12-15-2015, 09:42 AM
The lag is bk worse than ever. I have deleted all non essential quest and Lacton still tanks hard.

Celestrata Bloodsong
12-15-2015, 02:58 PM
(Updated 12/15) -- XL has issued a fix to this problem as of our most recent hotfix. Please let us know if you continue to experience issues with lag in housing zones.

Cammo
12-15-2015, 04:12 PM
Nothing has changed for me, frames freeze just as often as they did before.

What I don't understand is, why is there no option to 'hide' the contents of farms that you don't have access to. Get XL to rework the function they use for the siege border and implement it as a general option.
(For those that don't know, while a siege is active, all the contents of housing within the castle siege border becomes invisible. It's still there, as you can see the outline of the object when trying to plant something on the land, but you cannot see the object and you can run through it without collisions).

Sure it'll mean demo'ed farms or those set to public would be easy picking, but if it fixes the lag I think it'll would be well worth it.

Galadriane
12-15-2015, 08:34 PM
I was still experiencing FPS rates drops (e.g. down to 7 from 50+) in some housing area such as Cinderstone and parts of Solzreid last night. I can't really say I have seen any improvement to what it was before the hotfix. However, I am also affected by the graphical issues (black characters, colourful artifacts of all sorts of shape and forms), so that also could be having an impact.
interestingly enough, for the first 24hrs after the hotfix was applied last week I had no graphical issues whatsoever. It all seem to get out of control the next day. nothing has changed at my end (no new driver vers, OS updates etc); all I could see that was new were Christmas decorations on people's houses...

Glove
12-16-2015, 02:21 AM
Here is a Video I just made on EU shatigon to highlight the problem has not been fixed or even improved by said hotfix. I had to compress it for size reasons.


watch?v=C3RvdR_vyoA&feature=youtu.be/

my specs:

i5 4460@ 3.2ghz. Liquid cooled Corsiar
16 gig ddr3 dual channel mode
GTX 580 oc 359.06 driver
Velociraptor 10k HD
Ga-H97-D3H Mobo
Windows 10 Enterprise
Server EU Shatigon
Zalman Trimon monitor @ 1680x1050
ISP : Virgin media Fibre optic 32 mbps
Max game settings dx9

I would like to remind you I played KR scince beta. I had an average of 250 ping from the UK to the korean servers and I kid you not it was smooth as butter. I have 25 ping now to the Holland server and am confronted with this slidehow. That proves it is not a network issue. I am an IT specialist and have been building pc's for +10 years now. I tell you now you need to upgrade your servers Trion. That is they only way you can fix this.
This Cry engine mmo is the most demanding mmo on hardware available, that's why we like it 'crytek'. But this also means it needs above average servers to supply a smooth frame rate. Please post the specs of the EU server architecture and please send this video to XL so they can see what we pay a subscription to play. Also note the area is empty of players as this is in the morning. It gets much worse at peak times with haulers running around everywhere.

Atwood
12-30-2015, 05:24 PM
Up! The problem still exist! Several days it was good and I don't know what you do but lags and freezes return to the game few days ago!! These FPS rates down ruining this game and Glove video shows what's happening!
Especially in Marianople or in Mistmerrow where is a lot of people and mass pvp.

Pancakes
12-30-2015, 06:08 PM
Yeah I stil have this issue in Lacton, as to what others have been saying this is probably on Trions side, my internet connection is very good abd PC speccs are also good, I also run on the lowest settings so I get max frames/smoothness durring PvP. This problem is encountered 100% of the time when I enter housing zones that have a lot of decor items.

ncbwilson
01-05-2016, 06:48 AM
No this is not fixed. What logs/files do you need from systems to troubleshoot the issue?

Ubain
01-09-2016, 11:10 PM
yes, same here, in big houses zones there's some lag, freeze feeling, when you move in these area.

Melfina
01-12-2016, 11:14 AM
This problem as stated has been in the game since the 2.0 update. New buildings such as the solariums might be to blame if you ask me. Windscour I still get frozen in 2fps to 0. I even bought a SSD to contest the idea that maybe it was the way the hard drive was working, still didn't work. It feels like it's some kind of network hiccup as if there's data that's clogging the connection, for one time I was able to walk fine on the problem character on a vpn connection. But that didn't last long. Maybe NA and EU Nations need better internet in general... why can't we get 120+ mbs internet like jp or korea. They are building games that can run these speeds maybe that's causing an issue since it's not communicating the same as it does on those faster internet speeds? Needless to say this problem may lead to alot of ppl leaving the game since they can't even farm their land without waiting for 5 mins to get to it.

Hot fix in december didn't help and this problem is still here after the new year. Deleting old quests didn't help either. So please, Trion, Trion Harder and get this fixed.

sirarmadiller
01-18-2016, 03:04 AM
the place i get a framerate drop is in gweonid forrest between the temporal farm area and the stables near the North side of the lake

SkullMonkey
01-22-2016, 10:26 AM
I still get MAJOR lag in housing zones

Tiomun
01-22-2016, 11:19 AM
No improvement a far as lag goes.

Especially in Ynyster near the fortress. Worst Zone I have found 100% of the time.

Will have to try out the remove old quests thing.

pan0ramic
01-25-2016, 05:00 PM
I am also experiencing this issue despite running 2x 980 SLI and with the game on a m.2 x4 SSD (fastest ssd out there). The frame drop is only in housing zones and it seems worse in Windscour than anywhere else.

Glove
01-27-2016, 09:55 AM
I am pleased to say the 2.5 update has helped my rig a lot. The game is much smoother now. Well done, please don't mess it up :).

Montello
01-27-2016, 07:20 PM
I am pleased to say the 2.5 update has helped my rig a lot. The game is much smoother now. Well done, please don't mess it up :).

I agree! 2.5 has helped a lot! I was fine before 2.0, then 2.0 destroyed my housing area FPS. . . but now with 2.5 I'd say it is 90% back to normal!

Lacunae
01-27-2016, 07:40 PM
Mine has had serious lag from the 2.0 update and it's no better with the 2.5 update. I see names, but no bodies. None of my stuff in my house will load, my grape trees poof after I pick grapes, but are still there for me to chop down.

I've even lowered my visual quality to the lowest settings and it is still lagging horribly. And this isn't just in housing, but in other parts of the game too.

Atwood
02-05-2016, 04:30 AM
Up! Any news??? Several days after the update was fine and here we go again... lags and drop frame rates near the houses and pvp!! Maybe you guys Trion should think about new better servers?! Because If it will be all the time like that many people will leave to "Black Desert" soon.

Ricki
02-06-2016, 10:31 AM
Still having issues myself. My rig isn't the best but there is a very clear drop in frame rate when I get near housing areas, particularly in coastal situations (Vilanelle, Ynystere, etc). It often gets bad enough that I can experience a 5 to 10 second "freeze" before being able to move normally.

kazenomahou
04-21-2016, 12:27 AM
my hauler not follow when it acroos housing area