PDA

View Full Version : Occultism not viable?

Nefczi
08-15-2014, 11:50 AM
Hey guys!

I started playing yesterday and wanted to make Enigmatist. Problem is that I found out pretty quickly that I dont like Sorcery with all those cast times. And I ended up trying all diferent skill tries for a while with diferent chars, watched some videos and I eventually fallen in love with Occultism.

I like instant casts on almost everything which gives beter mobility, I also like some CC and all this AOE. Playing with Occultism reminded me a bit about my all time favorite mmorpg class, the "DD Elementalist" from Guild Wars. FOr those who dont know its a magic class, very mobile, decent AOE, good CC, pretty tanky, with decent sustained damage. You could make it more tanky or more DPS focused depending on your gear.

So I decided to try and build something similiar. Magic class, with good mobility, good CC and maybe pretty tanky. So I thought to make a class combaining Occultism with either Shadowplay(mobility), Witchcraft(CC), Defense(tankiness). That gives few options:

Occultism/Shadowplay/Witchcraft - Shroudmaster
Occultism/Shadowplay/Defense - Dreadnaught
Occultism/Witchcraft/Defense - Defiler

Well there is also an Auramancy that looks mighty good as well giving few more options. All of them look appealing.

But the problem is that I keep hearing/reading that Occultism got nerfed/changed and is not really viable as a main damage source. That Mana Stars for example do no damage endgame/PVP?

Im hearing that the only 3 viable damage trees are Battlerage/Sorcery/Archery and if you dont go into one of those you are gimping yourself seriously. Is that true? Asking cos it makes no sense, cos if that was true than from over 100 possible classes, only handfull would be "viable" while every combination that doesnt use those 3 mentioned abowe is "gimped".