PDA

View Full Version : Can't enter Glyph platform



techwarz
04-29-2014, 12:02 PM
Played the game all day, I restarted the game and this happened. Pls help!

"The installer was unable to extract some files because app seems to be runnings. Please close all app windows and try installing again" WTF?

Yooma
04-29-2014, 12:14 PM
Try this. CTRL+ALT+DELETE, start task manager, open processes tab, sort the list alphabetically and find glyph. Left click on it and on the right bottom corner click End process.
Re-start Glyph. Let me know if it helps.
If that doesn't help try this:
Delete the Glyph AppData folder
The Glyph AppData folder contains several files that can get in a stuck state and cause the client to no longer authorize your login. Follow the steps below to delete this folder.

Navigate to C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local.
Delete the entire Glyph folder.
Attempt to re-run Glyph.

techwarz
04-29-2014, 12:17 PM
REsolved! ty

Darth Futuza
04-29-2014, 12:27 PM
For those interested, this can happen one of three ways usually:
1) You open Glyph twice in rapid succession, fast enough that Glyph doesn't have time to check to see if it is already open.
2) Glyph crashes, but doesn't terminate its process
3) It isn't run in administrator mode

Yooma
04-29-2014, 12:27 PM
REsolved! ty

No problem, enjoy the game :)

Phantaram
05-01-2014, 01:13 AM
I'm bumping this because I'm having the same problem but none of the solutions in this thread are working. I restarted my computer even. Thanks in advance if anyone has anymore solutions.

Yooma
05-01-2014, 01:30 AM
I'm bumping this because I'm having the same problem but none of the solutions in this thread are working. I restarted my computer even. Thanks in advance if anyone has anymore solutions.
Did you have any problems downloading/installing the game? I'm asking this because your antivirus can block a certain file in the download/install process and make the game faulty since that one file is corrupt/or missing.

Yooma
05-01-2014, 01:42 AM
Also try some of these advices:
Glyph Trion support solutions (https://support.trionworlds.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1744/kw/glyph%20platform)

Phantaram
05-01-2014, 01:45 AM
Nope I installed and have been playing fine until I woke up a few hours ago. I'll try those solutions from trion though.

Edit: I disabled the start up programs and now it's a different error. Says it's "Either not designed to run on windows or it contains and error." May just reinstall at this point.

Glyph takes like 3 seconds to re-install I'd suggest most people just try that.

Yooma
05-01-2014, 02:38 AM
Nope I installed and have been playing fine until I woke up a few hours ago. I'll try those solutions from trion though.

Edit: I disabled the start up programs and now it's a different error. Says it's "Either not designed to run on windows or it contains and error." May just reinstall at this point.

Glyph takes like 3 seconds to re-install I'd suggest most people just try that.

Have you fixed it or still struggling?

hermitd
07-19-2014, 11:10 AM
i am having issues . i have tried all solutions and still getting the same msg. it worked 1 time when i restarted my computer. but it didnt today.

zoakan
08-03-2014, 04:18 PM
im having same problem! already tryed everything and nothing ! always the same app running and i had reinstalled the game!

Grimson
08-08-2014, 09:35 PM
Getting same issue Alpha was working fine earlier today, now glyph stuck unable to extract.
Uninstalled deleted reinstalled multiple times, did system restore still problems.

wafflah
08-08-2014, 10:12 PM
I once had this problem with none of the above solutions working and I did this (I have Archeage on steam):
1.Go to library all games
2.Right-click Archeage and go to properties
3.Go to the Local Fiels tab and click VERIFY INTEGRITY OF GAME CACHE.

Worked for me but steam had to re download a lot of files afterwards (about 12gb for me).

hermitd
08-09-2014, 01:42 PM
Tried the steam option too stil didnt work only thing that is working for me is uninstalling glyph than going to the glyph site and running it through that after i reinstall it works. Hope this helps some people

LouDiamond
08-16-2014, 01:26 PM
i get this error every time i have to start up Glyph. I've tried all the above and it still happens. The only solution i have is to completely uninstall and reinstall glyph EVERY TIME i have to open the stupid app. I've had to do this 20x over the last three weeks.

Is there any possible solution to this?

Josephdirt
08-17-2014, 08:46 PM
every time I trie to open it it says glyph installer file cannot be extracted with this program

Josephdirt
08-17-2014, 08:48 PM
does it not work for mac

Storma
08-30-2014, 12:16 PM
I'm going to bump this in hope of a response, because this issue is still around. My client is giving the same error as OP stated. Glyph will load correctly on a new install, so I will just keep Glyph running when I'm not playing. However, as soon as Glyph crashes and forces a restart this error occurs and the only solution is a complete deletion and fresh 8gb install.

I've tried all the solutions listed here and on the Glyph Technical Troubleshooting page. (https://support.trionworlds.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1744/~/glyph-technical-troubleshooting)

Skibbles
09-11-2014, 12:12 PM
no fix for this?

Kujis
09-25-2014, 10:31 AM
None of the fixes worked for me, but I managed to fix it myself. I'm getting this "The installer was unable to extract some files because the app seems to be running. Please close all windows and try installing it again" error everytime glyph is updated. Very annoying!

1. Go to your Glyph\Games folder and cut all the games from there to a different folder
2. Restart glyph and close it once it works.
3. Move the games back to the Games folder.
4. Restart glyph and play!

Selek
09-25-2014, 04:24 PM
I was playing fine, but I wanted to restart my computer. Off we go.

I launch glyph, somehow it's now wanting to download an update while I didn't need to before "hm fine.".

Then I got the same error; none of the fixes worked. I tried everything. Last thing I did was delete the old installer I had from last week or so, uninstall glyph, download latest one, install, ofc no updated needed, can play now...

But I have no idea what the heck happenned o_o

Santiago
09-25-2014, 05:11 PM
Trion, you need to step up to the damn plate. This bug has been around for over a year and you need to fix it or tell us how to. No replies to this thread from you just shows how little you give a ____ for your customers.

Roseline
12-13-2014, 02:26 AM
None of the fixes worked for me, but I managed to fix it myself. I'm getting this "The installer was unable to extract some files because the app seems to be running. Please close all windows and try installing it again" error everytime glyph is updated. Very annoying!

1. Go to your Glyph\Games folder and cut all the games from there to a different folder
2. Restart glyph and close it once it works.
3. Move the games back to the Games folder.
4. Restart glyph and play!

nice i just got this issue and tried this it worked right away. but i don't move to another folder, only rename the folder and rename it back again after finish updating glyph

Kastrol
12-14-2014, 12:47 PM
I was having this issue as well and absolutely none of the solutions worked. What I did was uninstalled glyph, and it left the GlyphClient.exe still so I tried to delete it. Apparently, Glyph somehow gets tied in to your Steam.exe process, even though I never installed any glyph or glyph game through steam. I closed Steam and it worked. Try closing Steam and open glyph then and see if that helps.

StacieRae
12-16-2014, 08:28 AM
So...im on my 3rd day of having this issue. Past 2 days I uninstalled and reinstalled to get in the game...today, on my 5th uninstall-reinstall and same note.
I do not have any component of glyph or AA running as it states in the error. Ive checked processes, Ive made sure all glyph data is gone....and today the reinstall isnt even allowing me in.
I tried using an earlier version of the glyph download yesterday and that worked...however, same steps do not work today.

Newie
12-16-2014, 02:01 PM
I have Tried all your solutions but none of them work i have tried deleting it but i still cant re-installing it after i de-intsalled it. Than you in advance

Fasti
12-17-2014, 06:18 AM
I have Tried all your solutions but none of them work i have tried deleting it but i still cant re-installing it after i de-intsalled it. Than you in advance

What specifically happens when you try to install it again?

Runor
12-17-2014, 10:20 AM
re installed several times myself. always says its already installed when it says can not install. and cant even uninstall cause it says it isnt installed.

Pokih
12-17-2014, 08:57 PM
Tried doing everything and nothing works, I have uninstalled Glyph but when i try to install it again i get the error saying its already running

Pokih
12-21-2014, 10:44 PM
has anyone managed to resolve this issue?

Kastrol
12-22-2014, 08:32 PM
has anyone managed to resolve this issue?

I did by closing Steam (assuming you have it) and try running it then while steam is closed

Pokih
12-28-2014, 10:28 PM
I did by closing Steam (assuming you have it) and try running it then while steam is closed

I dont have steam installed. I still cant install glyph since the last patch.
This is the error i get 7671

Artifaction
01-07-2015, 04:30 AM
Any update on this, as also got this on my computer at work (yes im allowed to play during lunch time)
Never installed it on this one before so i don't have any folders to delete, read somewhere you can install it in safe mode, but i cant because this computer is encrypted and locked with bitlocker and i don't have access to that code so i cant enter safe mode:/

Fasti
01-07-2015, 06:27 AM
I dont have steam installed. I still cant install glyph since the last patch.
This is the error i get 7671

I want to try to get you sorted out, but don't want to suggest steps you've already tried. What troubleshooting steps have you gone through already?

Any update on this, as also got this on my computer at work (yes im allowed to play during lunch time)
Never installed it on this one before so i don't have any folders to delete, read somewhere you can install it in safe mode, but i cant because this computer is encrypted and locked with bitlocker and i don't have access to that code so i cant enter safe mode:/

If your work PC has restrictions on installing third party software, you may need to discuss this with your IT department. You can try restarting the PC, then right-click on the Glyph installer and select Run as Administrator. If it asks for a password, and yours doesn't work, you'll definitely want to reach out to your IT people.

Thanks for your patience.

Artifaction
01-07-2015, 08:04 AM
No i dont have restriction to install any software, the restriction is only that i cant start the computer in safe mode, if i could then i probably could have installed glyph as iv read some other people manage to install in safe mode, though that is a really bad solution to install a game (or in this case just the client to install the game) and as im not the only one with this problem its clearly something wrong with the installer i think, and this is far from the only problems with the installer as i guess you are well aware of;) i tried to install the game for a friend some days ago but we get stuck on the patch phase and it just starts to download the game over and over, but thats problem for another thread i guess:) and ofc i have tried to install it as admin, i even tried to get another version of the installer just to get it starting but cant find any (thinking of an earlier version maby) now im lucky though as this problem is not on my main game rig like in other peoples case, but it could have been nice though to spend my lunchtime to do some dailys. so it would be really great if there comes a "real" fix to this (and other installation) problems.

codalafin
01-08-2015, 03:40 PM
I'm having this problem now due to the new update today.... I don't know what's the problem and the solutions on this thread aren't helping.

Radioactivep90
01-08-2015, 04:04 PM
Had this happen 2ce now actually. . . The launcher tries to start but errors saying the process of glyph is already running. After I stop the process and re-launch I get the "Either designed to not run on windows or ...." error.

For my fixes:

1: Make sure glyph is closed.
2: Moved the Glyph Games folder to another folder.
3: Went to C(local drive):\Users\(Your username)\AppData\Local
4: Deleted the glyph folder (where the actual program was located).
5: Went and deleted the actual glyph folder (where I installed glyph to).
6: Also deleted the folder out of C(local drive):\ProgramData
7: After all this downloaded glyph installer from their website.
8: Ran the installer and chose repair (since this wasn't a actual uninstall).
9: Worked for me afterwards.

[Edit] Forgot step 10: Move your Glyph games folder back to the "repaired" location.

As for why this happens I have no idea but it's been frustrating as this happened twice now; both during a patch time. Hope someone else is able to follow this and fix their client using these steps.

J33P3RS
01-08-2015, 04:44 PM
None of this is working. Every time it gets to 99%ish and tells me it can't download because the app is already running.

Artifaction
01-09-2015, 01:00 AM
GREAT WORK there Trion, after this update all previous problems are...... Still there and not only on my work computer but now also on my main game rig. FFS, if you cant build a working launcher please consider paying someone else to do it for you and maby.. if you are lucky you wont loose to many more paying customers. ♥♥♥♥ like this kills games u know:(

Yancko
01-09-2015, 01:59 AM
Got message that new glyph client is available, downloaded it, and trying to install but got same message every time:
"The installer was unable to extract some files because the app seems to be running. Please close all app windows and try installing again."
I have tried everything above. No success. Now i cant install glyph.
Please help.

Fasti
01-09-2015, 03:12 AM
Got message that new glyph client is available, downloaded it, and trying to install but got same message every time:
"The installer was unable to extract some files because the app seems to be running. Please close all app windows and try installing again."
I have tried everything above. No success. Now i cant install glyph.
Please help.

Restart your computer again for me. As soon as it restarts, I want to ask you to delete your temporary files for me by following these steps:

1. Hold the Windows key and press the letter R to open the Run window
2. Type the following text, precisely as it appears here, then click OK or press Enter: %temp%
3. This opens the Temporary files folder, containing files that are no longer necessary
4. Hold the Ctrl key and press the letter A, or use the mouse to highlight all files
5. Press the Delete key (Note: Generally, a few files may be in use and cannot be removed. It is completely safe to Skip these files. Restarting the computer before attempting these steps minimizes those files)
6. Right-click on the Recycle Bin and select Empty Recycle Bin

After that, find the Glyph installer in your Downloads folder, or download it again (http://t.co/agXEh9oGJ4). Right-click on it and select Run as Administrator. If you have Glyph installed, it will ask you to repair it, which you should do, even if you have already done that.

When it is done repairing, run the Glyph client again. If you launch the Task Manager (CTRL + Alt + Del) and see multiple versions of the GlyphClient application, close out all but one and try the game again.

Hellmaker9000
01-09-2015, 11:30 AM
For me everytime Glyph tries to update it looks like it errors and deletes the contents of all the files. I was able to repair it the first time but now it cant. I deleted everything and was able to reinstall. I tried to open it and when it downloaded an update it failed again. The same thing happened

Directory of E:\Programs\Glyph

01/09/2015 12:50 PM <DIR> .
01/09/2015 12:50 PM <DIR> ..
01/07/2015 12:58 PM <DIR> Games
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 4,194,920 GlyphClient.exe
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 851,456 GlyphCrashHandler.exe
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 262,040 GlyphDownloader.exe
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 GlyphUninstall.exe
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 22,317,056 icudt51.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 1,800,704 icuin51.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 1,336,320 icuuc51.dll
09/13/2014 05:03 PM <DIR> imageformats
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 1,149,952 libeay32.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 43,008 libEGL.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 705,024 libGLESv2.dll
01/09/2015 12:50 PM <DIR> Library
01/09/2015 12:50 PM 3,935 library_manifest.txt
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 msvcp100.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 535,008 msvcp110.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 msvcr100.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 875,472 msvcr110.dll
09/13/2014 05:03 PM <DIR> platforms
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 4,060,672 Qt5Core.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 3,165,184 Qt5Gui.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5Multimedia.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5MultimediaWidgets.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 813,568 Qt5Network.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5OpenGL.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5Positioning.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5PrintSupport.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5Qml.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5Quick.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5Sensors.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5Sql.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 17,025,536 Qt5WebKit.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5WebKitWidgets.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 4,374,528 Qt5Widgets.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 Qt5Xml.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 269,312 ssleay32.dll
01/07/2015 12:54 PM 252,400 vccorlib110.dll
01/09/2015 01:09 PM 0 xlpack.dll

Hellmaker9000
01-12-2015, 03:09 PM
After trying more and more it still will not work. I have found it is failing during "Self-updater" is running.

When it doesnt let me uninstall I downloaded a installer but selected uninstall. Nothing popped up regarding uninstall, instead it asked where do I want to install. I selected the same folder and it started to repair. It fails though, I ran it again and this time it installed and tried to open Glyph. It failed again and deleted all the files once it opened and tried to update. I repeated the steps again this time before it tried to update I cancelled and checked the folder and found all the files were of correct size and location. When I ran the installer again and selected uninstall I was actually given the uninstall prompt. I ran repair instead and it did its thing. Once it opened Glyph (Tried to) it started the "Self-updater". This deleted all the files then failed to open again starting the whole process over.
The second time I tried this process repair failed but again, uninstall twice installs all the correct files (Make sense... didnt think so). To actually uninstall I had to run uninstall 3 times.

Bascially if you want it off just keep selecting uninstall and select where you installed it if it is not the same in the path. Once it tries to update cancel and run uninstall one more time to remove it. Sorry but until you can give an installer that works my money and time will go else where.

Hellmaker9000
01-12-2015, 03:23 PM
So I actually got it to install. I found that I had some older installers. The installer I was using to uninstall was an older version so I figured I'd use the new one to try and repair. It failed. So I used the older installer again to uninstall everything using the 3 tries.
I then used the new installer to install the Client and it failed, it installed every file as 0 bytes.
Then using the older installer I ran a repair and IT WORKED!! it didnt even run an update just repaired eveything. It checked for an update but never ran self-updater and opened.

Also if you dont want to have to install all your games move the games directory out of the Glyph folder and after it is installed and confirmed working, close Glyph and move it back.

SockMonster
04-07-2015, 09:16 PM
I used a similar method and got it working:

I opened 'Documents' and in the address bar typed in '%temp%' and deleted all the glyph download files there and restarted my computer.

I then tried to update but like everyone else it failed to extract because of blah blah blah.

Next I reopened the %temp% file and opened 'GlyphDownloader' (with some trailing letters and numbers in the folder name).

Opened GlyphInstaller.exe and repaired. The first time the repair failed because the app was already open, etc. so I ran it again and this time the repair worked.

Perhaps just try brute forcing repair until it works?

Not a very sound fix but perhaps some of you will have some luck.

SockMonster

Fasti
04-08-2015, 12:48 AM
I'm glad to see it is working for most of you. Anyone who is still having trouble, make sure to submit a ticket and send us your Glyph logs, so we can investigate for you.

Saxonaut
04-12-2015, 01:06 AM
Same issue - nothings working it seems. Sorry to say, but as someone who does game-reviews, this is quite a frustrating issue. You would figure that at this point - a dev or someone higher-up would get wind, or perhaps garner enough common sense; to remove the bloody glyph launcher, and let us run it through steam like every other sane company without the extra third-party launcher rubbish. Specifically for this reason, it's a ridiculous idea, a needless complication, and an utter frustration - if you want the game to run on your own launcher, you needn't release it through Steam then, for then again - being a pointless, ridiculous, and frustrating endeavour.

Fasti
04-12-2015, 01:29 AM
Saxonaut,

If the steps listed above (http://forums.archeagegame.com/showthread.php?5754-Can-t-enter-Glyph-platform&p=1396111#post1396111) don't work for you, make sure to submit your Glyph logs to us so we can investigate.

Tibbleb
04-18-2015, 05:57 PM
I too have been experiencing this problem with the Steam installed copy of ArcheAge. I tried all the various suggestions and nothing worked. I finally went hunting around and noticed a file called GlyphClient.cfg.lock in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\ArcheAge. After deleting this file the Glyph launcher started fine. The only thing I can think is that Glyph crashed and left the file and wasn't able to restart because of it.

Fasti
04-19-2015, 03:28 AM
I too have been experiencing this problem with the Steam installed copy of ArcheAge. I tried all the various suggestions and nothing worked. I finally went hunting around and noticed a file called GlyphClient.cfg.lock in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\ArcheAge. After deleting this file the Glyph launcher started fine. The only thing I can think is that Glyph crashed and left the file and wasn't able to restart because of it.

I am glad to hear you're up and running again!

Rasche
12-01-2015, 06:19 AM
Try running it as admin it worked for me