+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Why isn't the housing/land instanced?

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    316
    why not just keep it the way it is and just add in a varying dimension/instance over ONLY the housing area. it would multiply the space without taking away from the whole pvp aspect of whole world aspect. just like they did with SWTOR not the housing aspect but the questing and normal maps aspect. there was two of every map on each server. you could be in the exact same spot as someone else and all you would need is to change your instance and you would be right there beside them. could you imagine double, triple, even quadruple of every housing district? plenty of land to go around. the land barons would be extinct and all guilds could easily have their own happy little towns where all their members had happy lands ^_^
    there are dozens of games that have instances built into open sandbox world.
    even wow has such things if the "primitive" MMOs can do it why cant archeage?

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by laffett View Post
    why not just keep it the way it is and just add in a varying dimension/instance over ONLY the housing area. it would multiply the space without taking away from the whole pvp aspect of whole world aspect. just like they did with SWTOR not the housing aspect but the questing and normal maps aspect. there was two of every map on each server. you could be in the exact same spot as someone else and all you would need is to change your instance and you would be right there beside them. could you imagine double, triple, even quadruple of every housing district? plenty of land to go around. the land barons would be extinct and all guilds could easily have their own happy little towns where all their members had happy lands ^_^
    there are dozens of games that have instances built into open sandbox world.
    even wow has such things if the "primitive" MMOs can do it why cant archeage?
    Because then land is unlimited. Then market prices get flooded with cheap goods because there's no value to them.
    Why not just buy some land instead of whining/complaining? I see people trying to sell crap in nuimari/calmlands/etc for dirt cheap (100-300g). If you can't afford that then stop complaining about land because you'll never own it.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5
    1 house per character or account (dont really care) allow them to be placed in the current housing areas. the fix to the issues would be the following:
    1) all farms are instanced INSIDE the house
    2) anyone with access to the house (set to family, guild, etc) would allow to get to the gardens
    3) offer special items that would expand the farm (instead of the trade run quest for the 16x16 design its a quest for a farm expansion)
    conclusion: ALOT more land available for everyone + the maps would look cleaner and neater and i wouldnt have to navigate my way through the grapevines that were planted magically in the center of the freakin merchants

  4. #14
    Because Archeage isn't (and doesn't intend to be...at least for now) a themepark mmo with "single-player like" experience.

    The instances already present in this game already are too much.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by Neofolis View Post
    The whole land grab thing is ridiculous, if the housing was instanced this problem wouldn't exist you just walk up to the front entrance of your house/land and go in. You can still set who has access, etc. I appreciate it is not as seamless as one large open world, but surely that's a worthwhile sacrifice for the problems it would solve.
    Instanced housing is stupid. Instanced anything is stupid except maybe dungeons.

  6. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaleesi View Post
    1 house per character or account (dont really care) allow them to be placed in the current housing areas. the fix to the issues would be the following:
    1) all farms are instanced INSIDE the house
    2) anyone with access to the house (set to family, guild, etc) would allow to get to the gardens
    3) offer special items that would expand the farm (instead of the trade run quest for the 16x16 design its a quest for a farm expansion)
    conclusion: ALOT more land available for everyone + the maps would look cleaner and neater and i wouldnt have to navigate my way through the grapevines that were planted magically in the center of the freakin merchants
    Having a world changed and molded by players is one of the "beauties" and "trademarks" of a sandbox.

  7. #17
    Go back to WoW, they have a fully instanced Garrison just waiting for you.
    Annamosity

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,263
    that's the worst idea ever... Play farmville if you like...

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    309
    Noninstanced will always triumph because instanced is dumb.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Nazar
    Posts
    2,580
    Because non-stanced land creates a better experience in general.

    This game is supposed to be PvP heavy.

    Fortunately the price of land has dropped tremendously since Auroria launced. Anyone that wants land and is willing to research the real estate market (and earn a hundred gold) can find a plot for their house or large farm.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts