+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

  Click here to go to the first Archeage Team post in this thread.   Thread: lol, avast detecting glyph activity as malware

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    638

    lol, avast detecting glyph activity as malware

    avast detecting this week's update as malware.
    it did not do this last week.
    had to disable it to run trion update.
    doing full system scan now..

    https://imgur.com/a/TqwcB3b



    idk why it won't let me inline images ><

  2.   This is the last Archeage Team post in this thread.   #2
    Community Manager Fasti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4,216
    Hey there,

    Sorry if this caused any stress. Fortunately, this is a pretty common issue with software that gets regular updates. It's definitely not the last time you'll face this sort of thing if you run games.

    Anti-virus software uses a long list of "definitions" that it uses to determine if a program is acting how it should. After an update some of those programs will no longer look exactly like the AV program expects so it assumes they are up to no good. It's a "false positive."

    Eventually (hopefully quickly) the definitions will be updated and this goes away. In the interim, after you've run your full scan and feel all right about things, you can just add Glyph and AA to your exceptions again.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18

    Glyph Updater Failling

    Good day;
    I am on north american archeage,
    Today, after the normal scheduled maintenance (for an hour now),
    I have been trying to run Archeage as usual for its update.
    But I get cards saying:

    -
    threat: URL:Mal
    http://glyph.dyn.triongames.com/glyp...yphInstall.exe
    detected by Web Shield
    connection aborted
    download failed code #56 http #0
    -

    Although nothing has changed on my side (before this maintenance),
    I have restored my PC and checked everything,
    including cleaning temp, %temp%, and prefetch folders,
    and the same problem keep popping up.

    I would like to know how to solve that!
    Thanks.
    Ag1

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Reply to Fasti:

    I can understand that.
    Hopefully it will be updated soon!

    In the intrerim;
    How do I add Glyph and AA to my exceptions again?
    Thanks

    NOTE:
    Why can I log into this forum,
    it is using the same Glyph Login card
    as when I try login to Archeage?

    When I try login on my PC
    with Glyph (double-clicking glyph shortcut),
    it says

    -
    The server had an error
    and was unable to process this login request.
    Please try again later.
    (Error #2015)
    -
    Ag1

  5. #5
    I'm having the same problem. already added to the exceptions list. no go. anyone know a way around the code 56 fail???

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Nice to know I'm not the only one! Big relief!
    (cuz now I won't mess with doing changes to my PC!)
    Holding for a solution...
    Ag1

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    8

    i think i'll trust my antivirus software

    i think i'll trust my antivirus software. Not logging onto AA again until the problem is fixed on your end. not going to risk malware just to play a game.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Migizi View Post
    i think i'll trust my antivirus software. Not logging onto AA again until the problem is fixed on your end. not going to risk malware just to play a game.
    So, are you experiencing the same problem?

    Even when I put trionworlds into AVG Exception list, it still doesn't work.
    Hence, I'm locked out of AA (without my consent).
    If it does persist, I will have to ask for a refund...
    Ag1

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Update: On this date, my problem is solved,
    (no changes done to my PC from my part),
    Glyph interface has updated, I can login on Archeage...
    Thanks.
    Ag1

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts