+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Definitive Thunderstruck Statistical Inference Thread

Definitive Thunderstruck Statistical Inference Thread

Hello friends,

My name is Evidence and I am a Statistician. Yes, that means I went through school and obtained 3 University degrees, one being a B.Sc. in pure mathematics, and an M.Sc. Statistics for good measure. I am also an avid gamer.

As we know, Thunderstruck trees are of major interest to the playerbase of Archeage, due to the fact that they are worth a lot of gold. A lot of anecdotal evidence and a little research has brought us to where we stand today. We know that TS can occur anywhere. We know it can occur at different times in a tree's lifespan. We know it can occur in the wild. We know a little about which trees can become thunderstruck, and which ones seem to be more likely. We believe that trees with longer lifespans have higher chances.

We are here today to improve our understanding in hopes of finding a strategy to optimize our tree-growing for the best chance to be struck by lightning. I aim to provide you with a clear, concise explanation of how this works, and we will do our best to avoid the ignorance of statistics and probability that seems to pervert every thread surrounding randomness in video games.

We are going to use the data provided in this thread: http://forums.archeagegame.com/showt...uck-Ratio-Data

The data here is useful, but does not explicitly tell us what the chance of a tree becoming Thunderstruck over it's lifetime. Instead, it tells us the probability at each stage. I have created a tree diagram (get it?) to illustrate the situation.

As we can see, the probability of a tree becoming thunderstruck over its lifetime is given by the formula:

P(T) = a + b(1-a) + c(1-b)(1-a)

Where a is the probability of success in Stage 1, b the probability of success in Stage 2, and c the probability of success in stage 3.